Request a Consultation

Phoenix Alcohol Offenses Attorney

Alcohol may be legal, but its consumption and certain activities under its influence can lead to criminal charges. There are multiple types of criminal offenses related to alcohol use and abuse that a person can face in Arizona.

At the Nunez Law Firm, PLLC, we are here to help when you need a Phoenix alcohol offenses attorney. We pledge to conduct a full investigation into the charges against you and work to reach the most favorable resolution possible. You need a strong advocate when you are facing alcohol-related charges, so let us get to work on your behalf today.

Why Choose Nunez Law Firm, PLLC For This Case?

If you are facing any criminal charges in Phoenix related alcohol, you need help from an attorney with vast experience handling these cases. Let the Nunez Law Firm, PLLC get to work on your case today.

  • We have more than two decades of experience helping clients who require legal representation for complicated criminal defense matters, including various alcohol-related offenses.
  • We treat every client with empathy and respect. Our Phoenix criminal defense attorneys believe that everybody has the right to skilled legal representation when they are facing a difficult time in their life.
  • We pledge to form a partnership with you, as the client. You will be kept in the loop about every aspect of your case as we move forward.

Alcohol-Related Offenses In Phoenix

There are many different alcohol-related offenses that a person could face in the Phoenix area, including the following charges that we regularly help clients with.

Driving Under The Influence

The legal blood alcohol limit in Arizona is .08%. If a person is arrested and charged with DUI, they face the following penalties for a first offense:

  • Up to 10 days of jail time
  • $250 fine
  • 90-day license suspension
  • Interlock device for 1 year
  • Alcohol evaluation/treatment program

While these are the possible penalties for a first-time DUI offender, 2nd offenses for standard DUI charges increase the jail time to up to 90 days and the fine to $500 while increasing the license suspension to one year and adding 30 hours of community service to the overall sentence.

In Arizona, if a person has a blood alcohol limit of .15% upon their arrest, the penalties will become much higher. This is classified as an “extreme DUI.” A first offense extreme DUI is punishable by:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Fines of about $2,780
  • 90-day license suspension
  • Interlock device for 1 year
  • Alcohol evaluation/treatment program

A person can face a “super extreme DUI” charge if they are arrested with a blood alcohol content of .20% or higher. If a person is charged with a first offense super extreme DUI in Arizona, this is punishable by:

  • Up to 45 days in jail
  • Fines of about $3,240
  • 90-day license suspension
  • Interlock device for 18 months
  • Alcohol evaluation/treatment program

Second and subsequent offenses of both extreme and super extreme DUI will result in much harsher penalties.

Underage Drinking

The legal drinking age in Arizona is 21. Minors can be charged with minor in possession (MIP) for any of the following:

  • Consuming alcohol
  • Asking somebody to purchase alcohol for them
  • Asking someone to sell or give them alcohol
  • Illegally obtaining alcohol with a fake ID

Penalties for a minor in possession charge can range from a class 1 misdemeanor to a class 3 misdemeanor, which can include:

  • 30 days to 6 months in jail
  • Fines ranging from $500 to $2,500
  • Up to 180 days driver’s license suspension

Drinking In Public

In Arizona, it is unlawful to consume alcohol in various public places. In most cases, public consumption of alcohol charge happens when a person walks outside of a legal drinking establishment onto streets or other areas with the alcoholic beverage. Public consumption of alcohol or drinking in public places can result in a class 2 misdemeanor charge. Class 2 misdemeanor offenses are punishable by up to four months in jail, fines of up to $750, and two years of probation.

Disorderly conduct

There is no specific law in Arizona that addresses being intoxicated in public, though a person can most certainly be charged with disorderly conduct. The language of Arizona’s disorderly conduct charges is very broad, and officers may use this charge against anybody who is engaging in disruptive behavior in public. Disorderly conduct could be a class 1 misdemeanor offense or a class 6 felony offense. Typically charged as a class 1 misdemeanor, this is punishable by up to six months in jail, with a fine of $2,500, and three years of probation.

How Can an Alcohol Offenses Lawyer Help With Your Case?

Regardless of the alcohol-related offense you or a loved one have been charged with, the goal of your attorney is the same – to ensure the best possible outcome for your situation. This can include getting the charges against you reduced or dismissed altogether or working to obtain a more lenient sentence upon conviction.

In order to achieve these results, your Phoenix alcohol offenses attorney can work to conduct their own investigation into the charges against you. A lawyer will not rely solely on the information provided to them by prosecutors or law enforcement. It is vitally important that your defense lawyer uses their resources to obtain their own evidence, speak to witnesses, and prepare depositions for your case.

Contact Us For A Free Consultation

If you or somebody you love is facing a criminal charge related to alcohol, contact an attorney as soon as possible. Whether you are facing a DUI offense, a minor in possession offense, or some other alcohol-related charge, the team at the Nunez Law Firm, PLLC is ready to help. We pledge to conduct a full investigation into the charges against you so we can get the best resolution possible for your situation. If you are facing alcohol-related charges in the Phoenix area, contact our alcohol offenses lawyer for help. Call (602) 500-0000 to schedule a free consultation.