Request a Consultation

Phoenix Trespassing Lawyer

There are times when it is clear that a property is marked off, and a person should not trespass. However, just because there is no “Do Not Enter” sign does not mean that a person cannot be arrested and charged with criminal trespass in Phoenix. In Arizona, there are three separate classifications regarding trespassing. At the Nunez Law Firm, PLLC, we are here to help when you need a Phoenix trespassing lawyer. If you or a loved one have been accused of trespassing, contact us today so we can get started on your case.

Why Choose Nunez Law Firm, PLLC For This Case?

When you are facing a serious trespassing charge in the Phoenix area, you need to make the choice to contact the Nunez Law Firm, PLLC to help with your case.

  • We will bring more than 20 years of legal experience to your side, and we regularly represent clients who are facing complex criminal charges.
  • We are committed to giving every client the answers they need during a difficult time in their lives, and we treat everyone with the respect and dignity they deserve.
  • We engage and educate our clients about their rights and meticulously investigate their cases to develop the best strategies moving forward.

Trespassing Charges And Penalties In Phoenix

There are three levels of trespassing charges that a person can face in Arizona.

1. ARS 13-1502: Criminal Trespass in the Third Degree

This is a class 3 misdemeanor offense that is punishable by up to 30 days in prison and a fine of up to $500. A person will face third-degree criminal trespassing charges if they:

  • Enter or remain unlawfully on any property after the owner or somebody else with lawful control over the property has asked them to leave.
  • Enter or remain unlawfully on the right of way on most railroad company property.

2. ARS 13-1503: Criminal Trespass in the Second Degree

This is a class 2 misdemeanor offense that is punishable by up to four months in prison and a fine of up to $750. A person will face second-degree criminal trespassing charges if they:

  • Enter or remain unlawfully on a non-residential property or any fenced-in commercial property.

3. ARS 13-1504: Criminal Trespass in the First Degree

This is a class 1 misdemeanor offense that is punishable by up to six months in prison and a fine of up to $2,500. A person will face third-degree criminal trespassing charges if they:

  • Enter or remain in a fenced residential property.
  • Enter a residential property and look into a residential structure (thereby violating the property owner’s right to privacy).
  • Enter or remain on any property that has a mineral claim.

A person can also face a class 6 felony offense for first-degree criminal trespassing if they enter and remain on a residential structure unlawfully, burn, deface, or manipulate a religious symbol on another person’s property, or enter and remain on a public services facility property unlawfully. This would be punishable by up to 18 months in prison with a fine of up to $150,000.

How Will An Attorney Help With A Trespassing Charge?

Phoenix officials take trespassing very seriously, and you need a Phoenix trespassing attorney who will stand by your side and provide a vigorous defense for your case. A lawyer can:

  • Obtain and analyze all evidence being used against you and ensure you are being treated fairly based on the facts of the case.
  • Handle all communication with the prosecution and work to ensure you are in the best position possible as far as sentencing is concerned.
  • Prepare your case for trial if necessary to defend your rights.

Contact Us for a Consultation Today

At the Nunez Law Firm, PLLC, we are going to conduct a thorough review of your case to determine the best path moving forward. Our goal is to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. If you or somebody you care about has been charged with trespassing, you need to contact an attorney with extensive experience handling these cases. Contact a Phoenix trespassing lawyer to start working on your case today.