Underage drinking is not a victimless crime, and these offenses are taken very seriously by law enforcement officials and prosecutors in the Phoenix area. The legal drinking age in Arizona is 21, and any person under that age caught drinking can face significant consequences. At the Nunez Law Firm, PLLC, we are here to help when you need a Phoenix underage drinking attorney. Let us conduct a full investigation into the charges in an effort to get them reduced or dismissed altogether. We understand how these charges can affect your future, and we are ready to help.
Why Choose Our Law Firm for Your Case?
Underage drinking charges can result in significant consequences, so let an attorney from the Nunez Law Firm, PLLC help get you through this.
- We are dedicated to providing first-class service to every client, and you will always have access to your attorney to ask any questions about your case.
- We have more than 20 years of experience handling complicated legal situations, and we are fully prepared to defend underage drinking cases.
- Our attorneys take the time to explain the laws and legal rights to every client, and we will counsel you on all possible outcomes and consequences involved.
Law And Penalties For Underage Drinking In Phoenix
There are various different charges that could apply related to underage drinking in Phoenix. Contact a Phoenix underage drinking lawyer to understand the charges against you.
- Minor in possession of alcohol. Simply possessing alcohol is a criminal offense if a person is under the age of 21. In Arizona, this is a class 1 misdemeanor offense punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
- Underage consumption of alcohol. The consumption of alcohol by a person under the age of 21 is illegal (with the exception of a few religious or medicinal purposes). This is a class 1 misdemeanor offense that could result in up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. In addition to this, a person could lose their driver’s license for up to 180 days.
- Drunk driving. Arizona has a zero-tolerance policy for drinking and driving under the age of 21. A person under 21 does not have to have a blood-alcohol level of .08% or more to face a DUI – any alcohol in their system will result in a DUI charge. Penalties for DUI under the age of 21 can vary, but will typically result in a misdemeanor charge as well as license suspension.
- Possession of a fake ID. If a person is convicted of possessing a fake ID, they could lose their actual driver’s license for a period of up to six months. Additional penalties will vary depending on the circumstances in which the fake ID was used.
Why Do You Need an Attorney For an Underage Drinking Case?
You need an attorney for a Phoenix underage drinking case because you do not want a criminal record at a young age. An attorney will use your youth in your favor. An attorney has the resources to:
- Gather and examine all of the evidence being used against you.
- Negotiate with all parties involved to reach a fair deal that can help avoid criminal charges.
- Prepare your case for trial if necessary to defend you against these charges.
Let Us Provide A Consultation Of Your Case Today
If you or somebody you love has been charged with underage drinking, please speak to a Phoenix underage drinking lawyer about your case as soon as possible. These charges can completely alter a person’s future, and we will do what we can to get them reduced or dismissed altogether. At the Nunez Law Firm, PLLC, our underage drinking attorneys will conduct a full investigation into the incident and vigorously defend you in court. You can contact us online for a free consultation or call us at (602) 500-0000.